canadiary Toronto

Diary of Events and Happenings in Toronto, Ontario.

Secrets of a Black Boy

Secrets of a Black Boy Produced by : PLAYINGwithCRAYONS Dates: November 13, 2016 Event Time(s): Thursday, November 10 - Preview at 7:30PM Friday, November 11 - Opening Night at 7:30PM Saturday, November 12 - 2PM Saturday, November 12 - 7:30PM Sunday, November 13 - 2PM Tuesday, November 15 - 7:30PM Wednesday, November 16 - 7:30PM Thursday, November 17 - 7:30PM Friday, November 18 - 7:30PM Saturday, November 19 - 2PM Saturday, November 19 - 7:30PM Sunday, November 20 - 2PM School Matinees: Wednesday, November 16 - 1:30 pm Thursday, November 17 - 11:30 am Phone: 416.504.7529 Website: http://www.playingwithcrayons.com/secrets/#synopsis Email: [email protected] Costs: $30 - $39 Cost Information: General Admission: $38; Seniors: $33; Artsworkers: $25; Under 30: $17 Secrets Of A Black Boy follows five young black Toronto men that come together for one last domino game at their community centre that's on the verge of permanently shutting down. With thousands of people already displaced, the ongoing dismantling of the community serves as a constant reminder that their only home is literally being ripped apart without much explanation or rationale. Through a series of compelling monologues and authentic narratives mixed with musical interludes, Secrets Of A Black Boy critically explores the underlying effects of common stereotypes faced by racialized men and delves into several controversial issues. . Event Details. Location: 16 Ryerson Ave, Toronto